The Spitfire Memorial Defence Fellowship for 2020 was held at Government House in Canberra on Monday 9th December and the award was presented to Dr Nour Moustafa from the UNSW at ADFA by His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC, DSC, FTSE (Ret'd). Dr Moustafa in his first fellowship followed on from last years SMDF awardee, Dr Elena Sitnikova with a continuation of the topic theme being “Cyber detection and countermeasures” with this year adding self-repairing and inclusion of the Internet-of-Things (IoT).

Dr Harvey Marchant managed the process this year for the first time and applied his knowledge and expertise as one of our nation’s leading academics with a lifetime of experience, having both successfully applied for many grants and evaluated them. It was also the first year for the new Deputy Rector Professor Harvinder Sidhu and his first selection panel for the SMDF.

The presentation was attended by our newly appointed SMDF Patron AM Mel Hupfeld AO DSC and also the patron of the Spitfire Association AVM Mark Skidmore (Ret’d). Other guests included previous award winners, Robert Dane and Dr Elena Sitnikova.

L-R - AVM Mark Skidmore AM (Spitfire Association Patron), Geoff Zuber (President Spitfire Association), Professor Harvinder Sidhu (Deputy Rector UNSW Canberra), Dr Harvey Marchant (Spitfire Association Committee), Dr Nour Moustafa, Dr Elena Sitnikova PhD, BE (Hons), CSSLP, SFHEA, Peter Radtke (Spitfire Association Committee), Dr Robert Dane (CEO OCIUS and previous award recipient), AIRMSHL Mel Hupfeld (Chief of Royal Australian Air Force RAAF).

Dr Nour Moustafa and Dr Elena Sitnikova, respectively the 2019 and 2018 SMDF awardees.